Down on Day One

As a blog virgin, here I go…

I start this blog two and a half months into this, my second relapse since my M.E. started in June 2007. I have averaged at least one relapse per year, and in fact, I only had 6 months in between my 2008 and 2009 relapses… The limited periods of better days is starting to wear on my optimism. It’s hard to stay positive when you’re almost constantly clawing at a sense of normality – hoping for better days, more energy and better sleep. But that is the reality of my life. In 2008 I decided to use my energy to accomodate to my “new normal”, but it is a resolution that still challenges me, and I dare say, still eludes me for the most part. I have accepted that I have a long-term condition, and I know as much about my M.E. as it is possible to find online. What I haven’t totally accepted is the huge impact that it has on my everyday life. I had an idea of who I was, what I was capable of achieving, where I was heading in life, both personally and professionally. I was an overachiever, a “yes-(wo)man”…the classic type-A personality. I had a sense of control over my life, and on the 3rd June 2007 I lost that. Totally and completely. And that I haven’t come to terms with yet. The loss of control, and the fact that I have to change almost everything I knew about myself…that’s hard. It feels like a total loss of identity. I’ve had to re-discover myself.

My M.E. and the first relapse (in 2008) were both triggered by viral infections, but this current relapse has most likely been caused by stress. And not just average stress, but rather, the world-view altering murder of my father in May 2009. I have bottled up my emotions about this event, and it has had a devastating effect on my health. I am actually worse (symptom-wise) than I have EVER been. Some days I am confined to the upstairs floor of my house. I have enrolled with a bereavement counselling charity, but am still on the waiting list for a counsellor. My dear husband (bless him) has started trying to get me to talk about my dad’s death, but I just can’t release the flood-gates…I’m terrified of being totally overwhelmed and possibly going into respiratory arrest. Every time I pick at the scab, I get so emotional that I feel like my chest is being constricted and I can’t breathe. So hopefully, by using this blog as a platform to re-gain a sense of control over my life, I might also start coming to terms with the loss of my father.

This first post is definitely not a “hugs and puppies” post, but rather to give an idea of where I am in my life and in my head. I hope to be more chipper next time round…

2 Responses to “Down on Day One”

  1. Sammy-sue,

    a powerful and moving blog. thank you for sharing.
    both about dad and ME – i can’t say i know what you’re going through as i have experience of neither, but know that in my heart i share you pain. i love you as my oldest, and most treasured friend. my thoughts are with you daily.
    you must let out the pain you feel over the loss of dad. or over time it will build up to the point of not being able to access it at all and this will only make your physical body more vulnerable. this i have seen in my work. the blogging is good. thanks for being brave enough to share.

    always
    xxx

    Liv sends her love too:)

  2. Wow I didn’t know you are very brave. I am sure this site will help other people and give them comfort and hope.

Leave a Reply

