Bits of Silver

This past week has been a real shocker. My energy levels have plummeted through the floor, and it has taken all my energy to just make it to the bathroom and back. It feels as though my body has decided that it’s had enough of this world, and has left for brighter parts of the galaxy, trailing my optimism behind. All that is left is a gaping black void where my body once lay… Pish posh – I mustn’t let myself get too comfortable in that spiral of self-pity. It’s a deep pit that is a real job to get back out of. I know this. And yet…

I did manage to scrape together some little energy yesterday, and finish my wedding website – that I started about 4 month ago. It shouldn’t have taken that long, but with this unpredictable illness, even the simplest of tasks can become Herculean. My website is a case-in-point. It is made up of a really simple to use template, and you just add in all the details about your wedding, etc. Old Me would have had it done in 2 days…3 at the most. New Me celebrates when it is finally completed 4 months down the line – at least it was finished before the invites are sent out! Hmm..I need to find more of those – Bits of Silver – the silver lining to every dark cloud. Perhaps that’ll help me stay optimistic even during the darker days. Right, Bits of Silver it is then…

I need to end here, as my arms are getting tired of typing already. New Me, over and out.

2 Responses to “Bits of Silver”

  1. I know how hard it is to do even the simplest of tasks. I created a website a couple of years ago. Its theme is the jewels in my life despite this illness. I thought it would take a couple of days to do. As with yours, the template is easy to use. But it took me months and months to complete it. That’s the new me (the old me was a high powered university professor).

    So, congratulations on not giving up and on finishing it! Every little accomplishment is a big one for us.

    Toni

  2. Dear Sam –

    Thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment. I am very impressed by your blog – your writing is so eloquent! You really described well what these rough periods feel like. I’m so sorry to hear that you’re going through one, too.

    I love your concept of bits of silver…I’ll have to keep this in mind. I’m back in a severe crash again today after a trip to the grocery store yesterday. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Sue

    P.S. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding!

Leave a Reply

