Sick As A Dog

I have had a cold/flu virus since Christmas, and it just isn’t shifting. In fact, every time I think it’s getting a bit better, it relapses and gets WORSE! It’s driving me bananas now! It’s gotten to the point where I can only sleep about 3 – 5 hours a night because I’m up so often because I can’t breathe through my nose! This stupid virus (as usual) has flared up all my ME/CFS symptoms too! And because of the pregnancy, I CAN’T TAKE ANYTHING that might make me feel better or help me sleep through the night! So, I’m just miserable now!

I sent Chris off to the pharmacy to get a recommendation on anything that I could take that is safe in pregnancy, and none of the pharmacists will commit to recommending anything! Their stock answer is: “Speak to your midwife”. Great. The midwife’s office is only open for non-urgent enquiries on week days, and when I have spoken to her before, she only really recommended a humidifier…which we’ve ordered online and are waiting for the delivery. But I need something NOW! This is really getting me down!

Sorry, this post is really just a way to let me vent. Thanks for “listening”.

7 Responses to “Sick As A Dog”

  1. I’m happy to hear you vent if it will help you recover from this nasty cold. Vent away…and feel better!

  2. Hot peppers always make my nose (and eyes run)!! :0

    • LOL! Truth be told…I’ve actually eaten spicy food for dinner for the last 2 nights hoping it might help, but all I succeeded in doing was giving myself heartburn! :o) C’est la vie!

  3. Bummer! But I can relate (to the heartburn! Yuck!).

  4. Sorry to hear you’re having such a tough time. It’s been too many years since I was pregnant – I don’t remember what’s safe and what’s not anymore!

    Have you tried saline rinses for your sinuses? It helps a lot and is totally natural. You can buy commercial saline nose sprays or just mix 1/2 tsp of salt in a cup of warm water with a pinch of baking soda. Pour some into the palm of your hand, then snort it up one nostril (really hard) and spit it out of your mouth. I know, I know – it sounds really gross! But it works. The saline rinses help clear out mucus and the salt water also helps reduce swelling in the sinuses.

    Also, you mentioned your symptoms seem to be getting worse and have been going on for awhile – watch out for sinus infections. People with CFS are extra-susceptible to bacterial infections (our immune systems over-react to viruses but under-respond to bacteria), so we’re very likely to get secondary infections like sinus infection or bronchitis when we get congested. If you get a secondary infection, you’ll need antibiotics.

    Good luck! I hope you feel better soon and get some relief.

    Sue

  5. I’m 13 weeks and have ME and somehow thought googling would help with the utter exhaustion 🙂 finding out it really lifted for someone else in the 2nd trimester gives me hope – thank you for sharing!

    • Hi Susie! I had baby number two YESTERDAY , and I had the same improvement of symptoms in the second and third trimesters…though a little less so in this second pregnancy (unsurprisingly though, as I had been mostly bed bound for almost 4yrs extra by that stage). Sam x

Leave a Reply

